nomadrunner.blogg.se

Macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire
Macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire







  1. #Macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire mods#
  2. #Macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire mac#

My 2020 MBAir, doesn't have this issue, so it might have been some design flaw with the 2018 models that made them more susceptible to this. They ended up shipping me one for free, but also offered to replace the whole unit, etc. After testing out a three prong power adapter (the cable they used to include with the wall adapter that was like an extension cord), the problem went away.

macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire

Long story short, I found other similar reports of this happening and it seemed to have something to do with the grounding of my house or something like that (not an electrician). Got a very nice rep who gave me their direct contact info and worked on trying to figure out what was going on. I ended up calling Apple Support and after saying I had some safety concerns, my issue was immediately escalated to a special 'safety team' at Apple. My older MBP didn't have this issue, though it used a MagSafe charger. Hard to describe exactly, but when I touched the metal (outside of the case or inside), I felt this weird static electricity feeling when I moved my finger across it. Basically, using the normal two-prong USB-C charger, the entire case became.electrified. They take safety issues very seriously.Īnecdotal example: A few years ago I bought a brand new MBPro and had a weird issue when I charged it.

macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire

I'm sure Apple will do whatever it takes to make this right and will want to know what happened here (i.e. I'm now waiting for Apple to get in contact The guy I spoke to said he wasn't sure what they would do next, but assured me that they would "look after me". The matter has been escalated to some higher ups at Apple.

#Macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire mac#

I left my mac with the store and they've put it in a fireproof safe, just in case it goes again. He said what happened was literally worst case scenario of what can go wrong, and that he hadn't seen anything like it before, although this was a known issue with my model of macbook. The guy I saw said that Apple would most likely want the machine back to investigate. I had to answer a bunch of questions to help them fill out a safety report. They took ot extremely seriously which was reassuring. Anyway, I decided to try my luck anyway since I was in the area.Īs soon as I mentioned fire, they agreed to see me right then and there. I unfortunately missed my appointment because I was having a tattoo done that took longer than expected. So I took it into the Apple Store in Regent Street yesterday evening. Not saying it isn't possible for the latter to have accidents, and you are absolutely correct that lithium ion batteries in general can fail even under proper use, but more often than not for vaping, it's because of user error (or bad choices). The normal store bought devices have power regulation and safe guards in place to try and prevent overheating and short circuiting, etc.

macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire

The batteries can easily heat up quickly and explode, sometimes with lethal consequences.

macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire

So they are basically running the batteries straight into the heating element with no safeguards, etc.

#Macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire mods#

fire, explosion, etc.), it's always been due to people using homemade mods that don't have any proper power regulation so they can get that 'big hit' off of it. Same battery tech but far less equipment between the world and the battery cell.Įvery time I've seen an article or discussion on vape batteries failing horribly (e.g. If you're curious, look up some battery failures in vapes.









Macbook pro mid 2015 battery fire